v 13.0 Third Party 2982
Download for v 13.0 Deploy on Odoo.sh
Lines of code 159
Technical Name ks_binary_file_preview
LicenseLGPL-3
Websitehttps://www.ksolves.com
Also available in version v 15.0 v 12.0 v 14.0
You bought this module and need support? Click here!
Lines of code 159
Technical Name ks_binary_file_preview
LicenseLGPL-3
Websitehttps://www.ksolves.com
Also available in version v 15.0 v 12.0 v 14.0
Community Enterprise

Document Preview

Document Preview saves time and storage of users as it allows them to preview the document without downloading it. This app can be used in all Odoo modules to display documents like PDF, image, video file format.

Hot Features

  • Supports Multiple Files such as images, PDFs, and Videos
  • Preview Files from Anywhere Inside the Odoo Module

Problems/Solutions

PROBLEM:

With the Odoo Module, no preview is available.

SOLUTION:

Document Preview offers a range of file formats such as image, PDF, audio, and Video to be displayed as a Preview.

PROBLEM:

The user had to view the preview in the Attachment (Technical) module.

SOLUTION:

This app lets the user preview in all Odoo modules.

Working of app

Note:

Extensively Tested on Odoo Vanilla with Ubuntu OS
  • Works with custom binary fields.
  • Support Multiple File Formats.
    • - File formats such as pdf, jpeg, gif, png, mp4.
HOW IT WORKS
  • arrow If you’re adding the Binary Field to a new code or already working code, then add attachmnt=True in python model wherever you wish to add the field.
    arrow
  • arrow A button like ( ) will be visible beside all binary fields like shown in the image.
    arrow

Frequently Asked Question

Is this app compatible with Odoo Enterprise?
Yes, our app works with Odoo Enterprise as well as Community.
Does the preview works with custom binary fields?
Yes, but you have to make the field Attachment = True.
What type of files does it support for preview?
It supports most of the file formats like pdf, jpeg, gif, png, mp4.
Need some customization in this app, whom to contact?
Please drop email at sales@ksolves.com or raise a ticket through Odoo store itself.
Will it preview if the field is modified (attachment=True changed to attachment=False)
You will be presented with the preview of last file that you have uploaded (when attachment=True).

Our Releases

15th April, 2022

Latest Release 1.0.2

Enhancement - Allow access to preview the attachments for normal user.

04th September, 2020

Release 1.0.1

Enhancement - Added Alerts if file can't be previewed.

Ksolves Odoo Services

ksolves
support
Odoo Implementation
apps
Odoo Community Apps
support2
Odoo Support & Maintenance
custom
Odoo Customization
integrated
Odoo Integration Services
develop
Odoo Developer Outsourcing
sales@ksolves.com
+91 120-4299799‬

Please log in to comment on this module

  • The author can leave a single reply to each comment.
  • This section is meant to ask simple questions or leave a rating. Every report of a problem experienced while using the module should be addressed to the author directly (refer to the following point).
  • If you want to start a discussion with the author, please use the developer contact information. They can usually be found in the description.
Please choose a rating from 1 to 5 for this module.
How to set permissions so that ordinary users can preview attachments
by
yourday
on 6/11/21, 2:24 AM

I installed the app, but only admin users can preview the attachment. Ordinary users can't preview the attachment, they can only click to download it. How to set permissions so that ordinary users can preview attachments

Re: How to set permissions so that ordinary users can preview attachments
by
Ksolves
on 6/11/21, 4:42 AM Author

Hello Yourday,

Thank you for your review/ratings, we appreciate your support!

As of now we have provided the access rights to Superuser/Admin only who can preview the documents. However if you wish to customize it for your needs then we can help with also. Please drop us an email at doo.helpdesk@ksolves.com, and Technical Team will get in touch with you.


Thanks

Team Ksolves!


Installed Module and Whenever any window with attachment is opened, it shows error.
by
Arihant AI
on 4/13/21, 6:13 AM
QWeb2: Template 'ks_preview_button' not found
Re: Installed Module and Whenever any window with attachment is opened, it shows error.
by
Ksolves
on 4/13/21, 7:13 AM Author

Hi Arihant,

Can you please send us more details at sales@ksolves.com?

1. Odoo Version/ Edition 2. App Version

Also, if you have any screencast of the issue- it would really help us understand.

Best, 
Ksolves


It works well with the new update
by
boby.wyjaya
on 9/4/20, 3:32 PM

Problem: "I already installed the module on Odoo 13.0 and follow the steps, already click the icon 📄, but nothing happens and an error message show. Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'modal' of undefined."

Answer: The Problem above already solved, Thank you very much for the effort and the hard works Ksolves.

Re: It works well with the new update
by
Ksolves
on 6/11/21, 4:44 AM Author

Hello Boby,

Thank you for your review/ratings, we appreciate your support!

Thanks

Team Ksolves!


by
Ksolves
on 12/30/21, 10:25 AM Author

Hello Abhijeet,

Please find the below response for your concern:

We have checked your case and try to reproduced the same and it is working fine as expected from our end. Please check the attached video for your reference. It seems like that some of your custom addons conflicts with our application. So if you want you can check the functionality of our application you can check in fresh new database.

If still you facing the same issue then please share with us video and test server. So that we can check and provide you an optimal solution for same.

For any other concerns or queries, please feel free to reach out to us odoo.helpdesk@ksolves.in.

Regards,

Team Ksolves !


by
Ksolves
on 12/30/21, 10:25 AM Author

Hello Abhijeet,

Please find the below response for your concern:

We have checked your case and try to reproduced the same and it is working fine as expected from our end. Please check the attached video for your reference. It seems like that some of your custom addons conflicts with our application. So if you want you can check the functionality of our application you can check in fresh new database.

If still you facing the same issue then please share with us video and test server. So that we can check and provide you an optimal solution for same.

For any other concerns or queries, please feel free to reach out to us odoo.helpdesk@ksolves.in.

Regards,

Team Ksolves !


by
Abhijeet
on 12/29/21, 7:43 AM

pdf preview not showing  

console error:

worker_loader.js:71 Refused to execute script from 'http://localhost:8069/web/static/lib/pdfjs/src/shared/util.js' because its MIME type ('text/plain') is not executable.

(anonymous) @ worker_loader.js:71

worker_loader.js:71 Uncaught DOMException: Failed to execute 'importScripts' on 'WorkerGlobalScope': The script at 'http://localhost:8069/web/static/lib/pdfjs/src/shared/util.js' failed to load.

Re:
by
Ksolves
on 12/29/21, 8:18 AM Author

Hi Abhijeet,

Thanks for reaching to us. We noted your query. If you wish to share your further queries with us, please drop us an email at sales@ksolves.com along with screen shot or video of error & So. No. it will help us to raise HT accordingly. 

Thanks,

Team Ksolves!



How to set the permission for ordinary users to preview attachments
by
yourday
on 6/11/21, 2:23 AM

I installed the app, but only admin users can preview the attachment. Ordinary users can't preview the attachment, they can only click to download it. How to set permissions so that ordinary users can preview attachments

please tell me how to do

Re: How to set the permission for ordinary users to preview attachments
by
Ksolves
on 6/11/21, 4:40 AM Author

Hello Yourday,

In regards to your query, as of now we have provided the access rights to Superuser/Admin only who can preview the documents.
If you wish to share your further queries & expectations with us, please drop us an email at doo.helpdesk@ksolves.com, and Technical Team will get in touch with you.


Thanks

Team Ksolves!


by
bhathu
on 5/28/21, 6:22 AM

Hi,

Superuser only can preview the documents? or else any other options are available to preview by all users.

Thanks!

Re:
by
Ksolves
on 5/28/21, 2:10 PM Author

Hello Bhathu,

In regards to your query, as of now we have provided the access rights to Superuser/Admin only who can preview the documents.
If you wish to share your further queries & expectations with us, please drop us an email at doo.helpdesk@ksolves.com, and Technical Team will get in touch with you.


Thanks

Team Ksolves!


Preview permission issues
by
家园共育
on 12/16/20, 6:20 AM
  • Hello, I have a question !

Why only roles with base.group_system permissions can be previewed, while others cannot be previewed?

Re: Preview permission issues
by
Ksolves
on 12/16/20, 2:24 PM Author

Hi,

Thanks for writing this to us and for showing interest in the module. In regards to your query. For now, we have provided the access rights to Admin only who can preview the documents.

If you wish to share your further queries with us, please drop us an email at sales@ksolves.com

Thanks

Team Ksolves!


Preview permission issues
by
家园共育
on 12/16/20, 6:20 AM
  • Hello, I have a question !

Why only roles with base.group_system permissions can be previewed, while others cannot be previewed?

Re: Preview permission issues
by
Ksolves
on 12/16/20, 2:24 PM Author

Hi,

Thanks for writing this to us and for showing interest in the module. In regards to your query. For now, we have provided the access rights to Admin only who can preview the documents.

If you wish to share your further queries with us, please drop us an email at sales@ksolves.com

Thanks

Team Ksolves!


Very good app. Working in Odoo 13
by
Joe Munardi
on 10/9/20, 4:39 AM

I installed it in odoo 14 CE, works fine except for the button menu keep displayed on the front of preview. Hope you could do some work to make it fully work in Odoo 14.

Thank you.

Re: Very good app. Working in Odoo 13
by
Ksolves
on 10/9/20, 5:22 AM Author

Hi Joe,

Thanks for sharing your concern with us. Yes, for sure, we are already working on it to upgrade the same for V14 as well. Once the same will be launched over the Store, we shall keep you posted. In case of any further concerns, please feel free to get in touch with us at sales@ksolves.com. Thanks!


V13
by
marwa
on 8/25/20, 1:17 PM

doesn't work on Odoo 13. The icon appears but doesn't work

Re: V13
by
Ksolves
on 5/28/21, 2:11 PM Author

Hello Marwa,

We are extremely sorry for delay in response, as per out findings things are working as expected. If you wish to share your further queries & expectations with us, please drop us an email at doo.helpdesk@ksolves.com, and Technical Team will get in touch with you.

Thanks

Team Ksolves!

Cannot read property 'modal' of undefined
by
boby.wyjaya
on 8/19/20, 3:36 AM

I already installed the module on Odoo 13.0 and follow the steps, already click the icon 📄, but nothing happens and an error message show. Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'modal' of undefined. I already sent this problem via email. please your feedback

Re: Cannot read property 'modal' of undefined
by
Ksolves
on 8/19/20, 4:16 AM Author

Hi Boby, thanks for sharing your concern, we will surely check the same and update you on the same. Thanks


Doesn't work on Attachments in Odoo 13.0?
by
Eleuterio Millan
on 8/11/20, 12:18 AM

I installed this on Odoo 13.0 but did not see any changes when I view attachments in the chatter. the attached files still download when clicked. Did I miss something? or does this need custom development for it work?

Re: Doesn't work on Attachments in Odoo 13.0?
by
Ksolves
on 8/11/20, 5:13 AM Author

Hi Eleuterio, thanks for sharing your concern with us. Since we have mentioned on the description under *How It Works* tab, users need to ensure that the attachment field or binary field must have set *attachment=True*. And if the attachment is of type audio then you've to download it to view. It works with other file types like pdf, txt, jpg, mp4. You can test that the app is working fine by uploading a file in Attachments (Just search for Attachments in developer mode). Then after uploading and saving, a new button will appear on the right side of the uploaded file in the form view 📄 like this. Clicking on it will preview the file which you have attached. Hope your concern has been addressed! In case of any further concern, please feel free to reach out at sales@ksolves.com Thanks Team Ksolves!


Doesn't work on Attachments in Odoo 13.0?
by
Eleuterio Millan
on 8/11/20, 12:18 AM

I installed this on Odoo 13.0 but did not see any changes when I view attachments in the chatter. the attached files still download when clicked. Did I miss something? or does this need custom development for it work?


I have an error
by
Raul Burro
on 7/15/20, 6:22 PM

I installed the module correctly and follow the guide but when y click on the preview button nothing happens and a warning show on javascript console. jQuery.Deferred exception: Cannot read property 'match' of undefined TypeError: Cannot read property 'match' of undefined


Not working
by
Saikiruba
on 2/5/20, 12:28 AM

After installation in odoo 13 (latest copy) by clicking the preview button it return javascript:void(0) by clicking edit button in the form it throw a error message https://prnt.sc/qxpqbi . Could you please fix this issues Best regards.Saikiruba MJ

Re: Not working
by
Ksolves
on 2/5/20, 1:19 AM Author

Hi Saikiruba, thanks for your concern and apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Sure, we will check the same and shall update you over here. Please feel free to share your further concerns or queries with us on sales@ksolves.com We would love to assist you. Thanks!


Over all working good but not supporting txt files.
by
Abdul Rafay
on 1/30/20, 2:42 AM

I have tested this module by uploading image document (png) portable document (pdf) both are working fine but its not previewing text file but downloading it


Problem with downloding pdf invoice in POS Module
by
Majed OMRI
on 1/28/20, 2:51 AM

First of all, thank you so much for your effort. Second thing, when I tested this module with POS module, and when I activate the possibility to download the invoice, the POS screen hangs in the level of printing the receipt and still blocked. Could you please fix this useful app. Best regards